For real estate licensing and continuing education courses there are specific hours mandated by the state. Student may not enter and exit from these courses expect during announced breaks. We strictly adhere to IDFPR policies regarding class attendance, tardiness and missed classes. Students MUST understand that the rules regarding attendance are mandated by the Illinois license law and the IDFPR and are not negotiable. Students MUST be in class for all required class sessions in order to receive credit for a class. The following is an excerpt from the Illinois Real Estate License Law –Administrative Rules as it relates to required class attendance:
75 Hr Broker Pre-Licensing Courses
Attendance at all class sessions is mandatory; however a one time only, excused absence not exceeding 7.5 hours may be made up by attending a make-up class. Absences in excess of 7.5 hours will result in an incomplete course; no exception.
30 Hr Managing Broker Pre-Licensing Courses
Attendance at all class sessions is mandatory; however a one time only, excused absence not exceeding 3 hours may be made up by attending a make-up class. Absences in excess of 3 hours will result in an incomplete course; no exception.
15 Hr Broker/Managing Broker Pre/Post Licensing or Leasing Agent Courses
Attendance at all class sessions is mandatory; however, credit for absences not to exceed 1.5 class hours of each 15 Hour Broker program may be made up by attendance at make-up class. Absences in excess of 1.5 hours will result in an incomplete course; no exceptions.
Continuing Education Courses
No absences allowed. To receive credit for a salesperson, broker or appraiser CE course, students must be in attendance for the full class session; no exceptions.
No absences allowed. To receive credit students must be in attendance for the full class session; no exceptions.
All Other Programs
No attendance mandates are required. However, to receive the full benefit of these programs, we encourage students to be in attendance for the full class session(s).
While allowing for comfortable attire, good taste is expected and required. Business casual is appropriate. If in doubt ask yourself, “If I was meeting with a potential Broker or client, would I wear this?” If your answer is “no”, or “probably not”, then it’s not appropriate for class.
Independent Self-Study or Internet students may audit a class if space permits. 50% of the regularly stated course tuition will apply and advance registration is required. No other audit privileges apply.
430 N. Michigan, #800
Mon-Fri 9am – 5pm
C.A.R. WEST TOWNS
6017 W. 26th St.
Tuesdays and Thursdays, from 9 a.m. to Noon and 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. on both days.
When We Need to Cancel
Last Minute Cancelations: Emergencies happen from time to time which may necessitate a change in your scheduled class session(s). We reserve the right to cancel, postpone or reschedule any number of class sessions, at any time, for any reason. We will make every effort to contact students as early as possible before the canceled or changed class. If the cancellation or change is so last minute that you don’t find out about it until you arrive for a class, please contact our office the following day to find out how the class will be make up. If by some error on our part you are not notified of a cancellation or change you will be given the opportunity to register for an alternate class, transfer to self-study course or drop the class and obtain a full refund of your course tuition.
Inclement Weather: It is our policy NOT to cancel classes due to inclement weather. The reason for this is that it is almost impossible for us to contact every student, enrolled in every class, at every one of our classroom locations at any single time. Some students will get the messages; some won’t…some will show up for the class…some won’t. All scheduled classes will go on as planned. If a student cannot attend a class they will need to contact our office about making up the missed class. If the majority of the students miss a class, or if the instructor is unable to make it to the class the instructor will work with the class at the next scheduled meeting to plan a make up session. In the event of an extreme emergency we will post any class cancellations on our website.
When You Need To Cancel
Cancellations received a minimum of five (5) days prior to the start of a course will receive a refund of your tuition less a 25% cancellation fee. ALL CANCELLATIONS MUST BE IN WRITING via fax to 312-803-4915 or email to firstname.lastname@example.org. Cancellations received less than five (5) days prior to the start of a course no refund is applicable. No refunds are applicable once a class has begun. However, students may transfer to another course anytime within 6 months of the original course date by paying a $25.00 Transfer Fee and/or transfer their tuition to another student. In this case the course status of the original student will apply to the new student. Students will forfeit their tuition after six months (no exceptions) if no transfer is made. No cash refunds.
Class check-in is approximately 15 minutes prior to the start of the class. Please be aware that in some cases classroom facilities are locked until the start of registration. Registration/reservations will NOT be held past the stated class start time. Late arrivals will have the option of transferring to a self-study course. The $25.00 transfer fee will be waived. Non-Registered, walk-in students will be accommodated AFTER all pre-registered students have been seated. Students must be in attendance for all full class sessions in order to receive credit for a class.
Conduct in these classes is dictated by the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, Division of Banks and Real Estate. These courses are NOT seminars where students can come and go as they please. There are specific course hours and conduct required of each student. The School Management Staff retain the right to dismiss a Student from a course for any of the following reasons. If a student is asked to leave the class they will forfeit their tuition: The following list is not intended to be all-inclusive and any behavior considered inappropriate may be subject to disciplinary action. Student arrives late for class or leaves the class other than during approved breaks. Student fails to turn off their personal electronic devices (phones, pagers, laptops, etc.). Student tuition to the course has not been paid in full; Student is reading unrelated materials during class time. Student is uncooperative, abusive, distracting or otherwise disrupts instruction in any way Student gives or receives help or is suspected of doing so, during a required exam. Student attempts to record required exam questions or is suspected of doing so. Student attempts to take the course for someone else or is suspected of doing so. Student is caught cheating on an exam. Student leave a class with a final exam Student harasses or is abusive to fellow student(s) or instructor(s) at any time, before, during or after a class.
Classroom Courses are text book based with lectures and group participation. There is no flexibility in the classroom environment since there are specific mandatory attendance requirements. If students cannot commit to an entire course of study, classroom would not be a good choice for you. Final exams are administered at the last class session. Even though the Instructor will deliver exactly the same information to every student some students will catch on quickly, breeze thru the course and pass the state exam with flying colors; others will struggle thru the class, work much harder to learn the information and still fail the state exam. The most important thing to remember is not to try to compare your self to what others are doing in a class, previous classes or what might happen in future classes. Commitment to your course and doing the extra study necessary to pass will get you where you want to go.
Self-Study Courses include textbooks along with procedural notes. The “notes” walk you thru the program. Some courses require unit exams to be completed. If this is the case in your course, you will take the exams on your own and submit them via mail or fax for grading (75% or better is a passing grade). The turnaround time for grading unit exams can take up to a week depending on how many students are enrolled in Self-Study programs at any given time. Self-Study Final Exams must be taken in person with an exam proctor. Exams are offered in our Chicago office by appointment or you can schedule an exam locally. Internet students will find directions for setting up final exam appointments online (click the “Done” or “Course Completed” icon on the internet). Self-Study students will find exam information in the “Read Me First” packet sent with the Self-Study course materials.
Internet Courses are all done online; no books are issued. Licensing course include required unit or end of chapter exams (75% or better is a passing grade). Unit/End of Chapter exams are graded online instantly…a real benefit. However, some people are not comfortable working on a computer for any period of time. If you’re comfortable with computers then our Internet courses would probably work for you. The program keeps you directed in your studies. However, if you’re not comfortable or don’t have access to a computer for extended periods of time then the Self-Study program may be a better choice.
Our Self-Study and Internet Course Final Exams must be taken in person with an exam proctor. Exams are offered in our Chicago office by appointment or you can schedule an exam locally. Internet students will find directions for setting up final exam appointments online (click the “Done” or “Course Completed” icon on the internet). Self-Study students will find exam information in the “Read Me First” packet sent with the Self-Study course materials.
Whether you take the Self-Study, online or in a classroom the curriculum is the same and all the same material is covered. All of these course offerings should be viewed as a college level classes for adult learners. What it boils down to is this… whichever format makes you the most comfortable is the one that will probably work best for you. It’s a very personal decision.
Final Exam appointments are required for self-study and online students or for students needing to retake a failed classroom final exam. If you are in the Chicagoland area click here to make a Local Exam Appointment. If you are outside the Chicagoland area, click here to set-up an Out of Area Exam Appointment.
- C.A.R. Central:
430 N. Michigan Ave. #800
Fax – 312-803-4915
E-mail – Central@chicagorealtor.com
- Out Of Area Exam Proctor:
For students who are located out of the Chicagoland and Suburban area, follow the directions outlined below to set up your final exam appointment. Complete the information as requested and fax this form to 312-803-4915 a minimum of 10 working days prior to the anticipated exam date. (Please print all information)
- First, contact your local public librarian, community college, College or University Business Department, local Board of REALTORS® or a Corporate Training Director. Ask them if they could proctor a final exam for you. YOUR MANAGING BROKER MAY NOT PROCTOR YOUR FINAL EXAM. Once you have determined who your proctor will be and have set your final exam date fill in the Exam Proctor Form. We will prepare your Exam Packet and forward it to the proctor in time for your appointment. Your Official State Transcript will be mailed upon receipt of your exam and score sheet from the exam proctor.
Exemptions from the license requirement are set forth in Section 5-20 of the Act. In other words, some individuals and entities who engage in the “practice of real estate” in Illinois do not need to obtain a real estate license from IDFPR. Included in the exemptions are owners of real estate and the employees of the owners of real estate. See Section 5-20(1) of the Act. Accordingly, owners of real estate and their employees may advertise the sale or lease of their property and negotiate real estate contracts and leases without a license. Note that for this exemption to apply, (i) the “practice of real estate” must be limited to those properties “owned,” (ii) the employment relationship must be per a “W-2″ wage basis, not per an independent contract basis, and (iii) the employer must hold title to the real estate, not just have a financial interest in the real estate (there must be a direct connection between the unlicensed employee and the holder of title). Also included in the exemptions are (i) attorneys acting under an executed and recorded power of attorney and (ii) attorneys whose services for a real estate consumer are limited to the practice of law. See Section 5-20(2) of the Act. Note that attorneys who engage in the practice of real estate must obtain a real estate license (attorneys are exempt from the pre-license education but attorneys still must pass the exam and obtain a real estate license to practice real estate).
No electronic devices other than approved calculators are permitted in the classroom, including telephones, signaling devices such as pagers and alarms or laptop computers. Cell phones and pagers must be turned off while class is in session. Students may not leave the class to make or take telephone calls. Doing so may result in immediate dismissal. Recording and photographic devices of any kind are not permitted in class.
A final exam will be administered at the last class session. (Exception: Appraisal Continuing Education classes do not require a final exam.) Students are required to take the final examination at the last class session. If a student is absent from the last class session the course is considered incomplete. The “Incomplete Course Policy” will then apply.
If a student fails the final exam they will choose ONE of two options:
- OPTION #1 – Take a retake final exam within two weeks of the original final exam date a $20.00 fee will apply. Only one retake exam is allowed.
- OPTION #2 – Repeat course anytime within six (6) months of their original course date at 50% off the original tuition price. Only one repeat course is allowed.
If the student fails the retake course exam, or the repeat course, they will need to re-enroll in the course at full course tuition. No discount for books previously purchased will be given. See the section on Exam Appointments.
It is our policy NOT to cancel classes due to inclement weather. The reason for this is that it is almost impossible for us to contact every student, enrolled in every class, at every one of our classroom locations at any single time. Some students will get the messages; some won’t…some will show up for the class…some won’t. All scheduled classes will go on as planned. If a student cannot attend a class they will need to contact our office about making up the missed class. If the majority of the students miss a class, or if the instructor is unable to make it to the class the instructor will work with the class at the next scheduled meeting to plan a make up session. In the event of an extreme emergency we will post any class cancellations on our website.
Your course is considered incomplete if:
- You missed a class session and have not made it up.
- You have more than one allowable absence and/or have dropped the course.
If #1 applies to you, you must make up your missed class session by attending the same class session at another time within 6 months of the original class or by making an appointment to view a make-up video. You will also need to take and pass any exams required for that session. Video and exam make-up sessions are available Monday – Friday by appointment in our downtown office. If #2 applies to you, you may repeat the entire course within six (6) months of the original course start date. You must use your original texts and materials and attend all class sessions. A $25.00 transfer fee will apply. Only one repeat course is allowed. If you fail the repeat class you will need to re-enroll at full course tuition in order to continue in another course. (No discount for books previously purchased will be given.)
Students will receive a Course and Instructor Evaluation. Evaluation of our programs is very important to us. It is the only method we have of getting feedback on the good or bad of our classes. It is very important that each student complete an evaluation form. Students do not need to put their name on the form. Instructors are required to collect these documents at the conclusion of the course. Return all required Course/Instructor Evaluations to the school the day following the final class session. Meet Our Instructors.
One of the biggest problems schools face is instructor absences and class cancellations. The ripple affect from just one incident is enormous. Our schools deal with approximately 30 instructors teaching in 30 different facilities on any given day. Just one or two instructors calling in at the last minute to make schedule changes causes havoc. Not only does it take time and many, many calls to find sub instructors; if we’re not successful we have to cancel the class. This sets up a very negative situation for our students. Instructors are required to find a substitute instructor. However, for last minute emergencies. all Staff in school activities are required to jump in to assist any way they can. Generally, Instructor illness is not a last minute problem…they usually have a pretty good idea during the day that you’re not feeling up to par so we ask that they don’t wait till that last minute to make alternate arrangements. Bad weather is not a last minute problem. We usually get a considerable amount of warning regarding heavy rain or snow storms. So again, we ask the instructors to not wait till that last minute to make alternate arrangements.
Students must be in class for all required class sessions in order to receive credit for a class. Prompt attendance at all classes is mandatory…late arrivals may be dismissed from the class. The penalty for tardiness is left to the discretion of the instructor. If a student is dismissed from the class they will have the option of transferring to another classroom, self-study or online course within 6 months of the original enrollment date. A $25.00 transfer fee will apply. Unless otherwise advised by the Instructor, students may not leave class except during announced breaks. This includes leaving the classroom to make or take cell phone calls or to conduct any other business.
In Illinois, the DBRE issues three kinds of individual real estate licenses: leasing agent licenses, broker licenses, and managing broker licenses.
Final Exam Grades and School Pass Rates
According to Illinois License Law, students must obtain the following score to pass the licensing and/or CE courses. However, in order to pass the state licensing examination, a minimum grade of 85% is strongly recommended. Please note: School faculty are free to set a higher passing grade if they feel it is necessary. However, students must be made aware of this change DURING THE FIRST CLASS SESSION regarding why a higher pass rate will be required.
Broker or Managing Broker Continuing Education Courses 70%
School pass rates are proprietary information gathered by the state testing agency and shared with us in a monthly report. Our average pass rate ranks as one of the highest in the state. Choosing a school based on pass rates is not always realistic. You may not be comparing apples to apples, but rather apples to oranges. Some schools quote pass rates based on their course final exams. Instructors teach to the final exam ensuring every student passes the course. Students are lead to believe they are set and ready for the state exam only to find that they fail miserably. These students have memorized lots of questions and answers but have not learned the concepts necessary to pass the state exam. When questions are asked in a manner other than what they’re used to, they can’t answer correctly. It usually surprises people to know that the state exam pass rate in Illinois is about 45%! What does that tell you?? What are schools in business for; to get students in and out of classes, that’s where the money is made. Real Estate schools wouldn’t be in business if students failed their course exams all the time.
How are we different? Because we are a REALTOR® Association, we look at a long-term goal. Successful students mean new real estate agents. Agents who we hope will join the Chicago Association of REALTORS® and make us their career education provider. We have a real stake in making sure our students are successful…they are the future of our organization.
We counsel students that licensing courses should be viewed as college level classes for adult learners. Some students will catch on quickly…others will have to work much harder to learn the information. Students must take personal responsibility and take the time necessary to read and study the course materials provided in order to be successful at the state exam level. We suggest a minimum of two hours of independent reading and review for every classroom hour spent with your Instructor.
Our courses are approved by the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation. If you visit their website you will see our school listed in the Approved Pre-License School section.
When Illinois salesperson or broker licensees are seeking information on licensing in other states it is in their best interest to contact the specific state agency for the state in which they are interested. You will want to ask the licensing agency what their state licensing requirements are and if you’re eligible and what courses you’ll need to take if any. You’ll also want to ask them about possible course/license reciprocity between them and Illinois. In your conversations with them don’t forget to ask them for a list of approved real estate licensing schools in case you are required to take additional course work. You can find the names, addresses and phone numbers of all state licensing agencies at www.arello.com, then click on Regulatory Agencies.
Reciprocity – Coming from Another State
Currently, Illinois has reciprocity with the following states under the Real Estate License Act of 2000:
- COLORADO – Department of Regulatory Agencies, Division of Real Estate, 303-894-2166
- CONNECTICUT – Occupational and Professional Licensing Division, 860-713-7230
- FLORIDA – Department of Business and Professional Regulation, 850-487-1395
- GEORGIA – Real Estate Commission, 404-656-3916
- INDIANA – Professional Licensing Agency, 317-232-2980
- IOWA – Real Estate Commission, 515-281-3183
- NEBRASKA – Real Estate Commission, 402-471-2004
- SOUTH DAKOTA – Real Estate Commission, 605-773-3600
- WISCONSIN – Department of Regulation and Licensing, 608-266-5511
If you reside in a state other than those listed above you must take the required Illinois licensing courses and pass the state licensing examination. Salesperson License candidates are required to complete the 45 Hour Real Estate Transactions Course; Broker candidates must complete 120 Hours of approved course work and both must take and pass the state Licensing Examination. In addition, Salesperson and Broker License candidates must be at least 21 years of age (there are exemptions to this rule however); be a high school graduate or have obtained a G.E.D. For More Information on the Requirements/Qualifications please review the Illinois Licensee Candidate Handbook at www.goamp.com.
Self-Study programs returned in saleable condition with 30 days of receipt will be refunded the tuition less a 25% cancellation fee. No refunds are applicable on study aids, books, audio/video cassettes, CD’s, software programs or Internet/Online Courses unless defective.
At some locations, students will be required to sign-in and sign-out in the lobby of the building whenever visiting the school or attending a class. This is a requirement of the building, as well as a security measure for everyone. Lobby sign-in/sign-out lists are compared to our classroom attendance sheets. If student’s name and dates don’t match the student will not receive their class completion certificates/transcripts.
For complete information on State Licensing Exams go to www.goamp.com.
This course should be viewed as a college level class for adult learners. Some students will catch on quickly…others will have to work much harder to learn the information. If you do not take the time necessary to read and study the course materials you given you will not be successful at the state exam level. In order for you to be successful, you should plan to schedule a minimum of two hours of reading and review for every classroom hour spent with your Instructor. Let your instructor know you are having trouble. He or she can make recommendations to help you. If you want to be successful at the state exam level you should be aiming for a minimum score of 80% on all exercises, quizzes and exams presented. Scoring less than 80% may cause you problems at the state level.
Every attempt will be made to distribute these documents at the final class session. However, we reserve the right to mail them after the class has ended. If transcripts are mailed, allow a minimum of 2 weeks for delivery. Students should not make a State Exam appointment until they have received their Official State Transcript from the School. We cannot be responsible for any fees incurred due to a student not having their transcript in time for an exam. Incorrect Transcripts will be replaced free of charge. Duplicate copies of transcripts may be requested for a charge of $20.00 each.
Students may transfer to another class at any time during the class as long as they are within their 6 month grace period. Transferring to a new class does not extend past the 6 month grace period. Transferring to another class prior to or after the start of a class …$25.00
Classroom students should discuss their questions with their course instructor. For additional help students may want to engage the services of an outside tutor. In-Person Tutors are available. Hourly tutoring rates are negotiated between the Instructor and the student and paid directly to the Instructor:
Leo Schwartz Salesperson, Broker and CE Courses
Sam Martin Appraiser Licensing & CE courses