BROKER CONTINUING EDUCATION
Illinois License Law imposes continuing education requirements on individuals holding real estate Broker, Managing Broker and Appraiser licenses. To renew your license, you must:
- Properly renew your license by your required renewal date
- Accurately complete the Renewal Application
- Mail the application with the appropriate fee to the Licensing Agency
- Or, renew online!
(Licensed Prior to 2/1/18)
If you were licensed prior to February 1, 2018 you will need to complete the requirements below by April 30, 2020:
- 12 Hours
- 4 Hours Core
- 8 Hours Elective
- 1 Hour must fulfill the Sexual Harassment Prevention training requirement – WE HAVE CLASSES
NOTE: 6 Hours of Core (which includes 3 hours of Core A and 3 hours of Core B) taken prior to 7/1/2019 shall meet the Core requirement for this renewal. If only part of the 6 Hour Core was completed prior to 7/1/2019 (e.g. Core A was completed, but not Core B), the new 4 Hour Core course, effective July 1, 2019, must be completed. The completed Core A or Core B may be applied towards the elective requirement.
We offer both Core and Electives in three course formats:Online Courses Classroom Courses Self-Study Courses Webinar Courses
(Original Broker License Issued between 2/1/18 – 8/8/19) – 30-Hour Post
If you were originally licensed between February 1, 2018, and August 8, 2019 you need to complete the 30-Hour Post-Licensing Package AND 1 Hour of approved Sexual Harassment Prevention Training by April 30, 2020.
(Original Broker License Issued between 8/9/19 – 4/30/20) – 45-Hour Post
If you were originally licensed between August 9, 2019, and April 30, 2020 you need to complete the 45-Hour Post-Licensing Package. License renewal deadlines will vary. Learn more below.
DO NOT TAKE THE 30 HOUR COURSE IF YOU ARE REQUIRED TO COMPLETE THE 45 HOUR COURSE.
- If your first broker’s license was issued by IDFPR on or between the dates of 8/9/19 and 11/1/19, you will be required to take the new 45 Hours of Post-Licensing by April 30, 2020 (However, the Department may in its discretion extend the date by which the 45-Hour Post-License Education must be completed thought 11.1.20 without penalty or fine).
- If your first broker’s license was issued by IDFPR on or between the dates of 11/2/19 and 4/30/20, with an expiration date of 4/30/22, you may take the 45-Hour Post-License coursework ASAP as it will count towards the licensee’s 4/30/22 renewal.
PLEASE NOTE: If you need to look up the issue date of your license, please utilize this link, as it is the only place that gives you the issue date of your license.
What happens if you don’t renew your license?
Licensees who have failed to renew properly will be terminated from CAR membership and will lose MLS access and all association membership services and benefits, including rights to use or display the term REALTOR® and respective REALTOR® Designations in any manner.
In addition, all licensees found to have continued to practice real estate in Illinois without properly renewing may also be subject to IDFPR sanctions.